Dahlonega Literary Festival

The Dahlonega Literary Festival is an annual celebration of books. The next festival will take place March 28-29, 2015. Situated in Historic Downtown Dahlonega, the festival continues to grow and become more and more entertaining as the years go on. We promise it will delight anyone who is a lover of books and reading.  All festival events are free and open to the public unless otherwise noted.

Each year the festival presents a slate of invited authors representing a variety of genres sharing their ideas and experiences in various programs. In addition, a number of regional authors (ranging from local to other areas of the Southeast) have the opportunity to purchase a table to both interact with festival attendees and sell their books.

The 2015 Festival will be a special event as it will be in conjunction with the Southern Literary Festival.

Posted in News, Schedule, Update | Tagged , , , , , | Leave a comment

Featured Authors

We are proud to announce our featured author line-up for the 2015 Dahlonega Literary Festival. Seventeen authors will be gracing Historic Downtown Dahlonega, Ga with the presence on March 28-29, 2015. Now here’s your chance to meet these authors in a intimate setting and even have lunch with your favorite!

The 2015 DLF Featured Authors are:

Raymond Atkins
Susan Boyer
Mark Braught
Jackie Cooper
Lynn Cullen
Delilah S. Dawson
Jessica Handler
Molly Harper
Kevin Hearne
Kathryn Hinds
Ann Hite
Vicki Lane
Erika Marks
Man Martin
Frances Mayes
Cherie Priest
George Weinstein


Posted in Authors, Events, News | Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Regional Writers Added: Hawthorne, Horgan, & Simmons

The Dahlonega Literary Festival is proud to announce we have added the first set of writers to our Regional Writers line-up. We will be welcoming Grace Hawthorne (Shorter’s Way), Kevin Horgan (The March of the 18th, A Story of Crippled Heroes in the Civil War), and Rona Simmons (The Quiet Room) to the 2015 festival. You can read more about these writers, and how to apply for a spot in our Regional Writer line-up, by visiting our Regional Writers page.

Posted in Authors, Events | Tagged , , , , , | Leave a comment

Now Accepting PayPal Donations

We have made it easier than ever to donate to the Dahlonega Literary Festival. You can now give however much you wish using PayPal! It’s safe, secure, and you can choose to donate whatever amount is right for you. And the tax paper work(that legal stuff we give you so you may write-off the amount you gave on your tax return) will be sent to the address that you provide during the PayPal donation process.

The Dahlonega Literary Festival is completely run by volunteers, and the only way we continue having such wonderful authors, panels, and vendors is with your support.

So what are you waiting for? Donate today!

 Donate Button with Credit Cards

Would you rather donate by sending us a check? You can do that too! Click here for more information on donations and sponsorships.

Posted in Fund Raising, Update | Tagged , , , | Leave a comment

2015 Featured Author: Cherie Priest

Cherie Priest is the author of over a dozen novels, most recently the gothic horror story Maplecroft; but she is perhaps best known for the steampunk pulp adventures of the Clockwork Century, beginning with Boneshaker. Boneshaker was nominated for both the Hugo Award and the Nebula Award; it was a PNBA Award winner, and cpriestwinner of the Locus Award for Best Science Fiction Novel. Cherie also wrote Bloodshot and Hellbent from Bantam Spectra; Fathom and the Eden Moore series from Tor; and three novellas published by Subterranean Press. In addition to all of the above, her first foray into George R. R. Martin’s superhero universe, Fort Freak (for which she wrote the interstitial mystery), debuted in the summer of 2011. Cherie’s short stories and nonfiction articles have appeared in such fine publications as Weird Tales, Publishers Weekly, and numerous anthologies. She lives in Chattanooga, TN, with her husband, a big shaggy dog, and a fat black cat.

Posted in Authors | Tagged , , , | Leave a comment

2015 Featured Author: Susan Boyer

SBoyerSusan M. Boyer is the author of the Liz Talbot mystery series. Her debut novel, Lowcountry Boil is a USA Today Bestseller, an Agatha Award winner for Best First Novel, a Macavity nominee, a 2012 Daphne du Maurier Award recipient, and a 2012 RWA Golden Heart® finalist. Lowcountry Bombshell is available now. Lowcountry Boneyard is due out April 21, 2015.

Susan lives with her husband and an inordinate number of houseplants in Greenville, SC. You can learn more by visiting her website: susanmboyerbooks.com

Posted in Authors | Tagged , , , , | Leave a comment

2015 Featured Author: George Weinstein

G_WeinsteinGeorge Weinstein is the author of the contemporary novel The Caretaker, the Southern historical novel Hardscrabble Road, and the multi-cultural historical novel The Five Destinies of Carlos Moreno.His work has been published locally in the Atlanta press and in regional and national anthologies, including A Cup of Comfort for Writers. His first novel, the children’s motivational adventure Jake and the Tiger Flight, was written for the nonprofit Tiger Flight Foundation, which is dedicated to the mission of leading the young to become the “Pilot in Command” of their lives.

George is the former President of the Atlanta Writers Club (AWC) and former everything-else there too. Having run out of term-limited positions for him, in 2012 the AWC Board bestowed on George the lifetime title of Officer Emeritus, which means he can never leave. Not that he would, but it’s nice to be wanted.
He lives with his wife and three furry, four-legged children in Roswell, GA.
Posted in Authors | Tagged , , | Leave a comment

2015 Featured Author: Raymond Atkins

RatkinsRaymond L. Atkins’s fourth novel, Sweetwater Blues, has just been released by Mercer University Press. Set in fictional Sweetwater, Georgia, the story chronicles ten years in the life of Palmer Cray, a young man who in the aftermath of his one great mistake confronts regret at his own fallibility, endures punishment for his actions, finds unexpected redemption, and is given a second chance to try to make it all right.

Atkins resides in Rome, Georgia, where he is an instructor of English at Georgia Northwestern Technical College. He lives in an old house with a patient wife and a fat dog.  His hobbies include people-watching, reading, and watching movies that have no hope of ever achieving credibility.

His first novel, The Front Porch Prophet, was published by Medallion Press in 2008 and was awarded the Georgia Author of the Year Award for First Novel. Midwest Book Review called it “an intriguing and clever tale, highly recommended for community library fiction collections.”

His second novel, Sorrow Wood, was published by Medallion Press in 2009. As noted in Publisher’s Weekly, “Subtle humor and mostly pitch-perfect prose distinguish Atkins’s compelling mix of mystery and romance, set in 1985 with flashbacks to the 1930s and ’40s. Atkins smoothly weaves past into present as the action builds to a final poignant twist.”

His third novel, Camp Redemption, was published by Mercer University Press in 2013. It was awarded the Ferrol Sams Award for Fiction and won the 2014 Georgia Author of the Year Award for Fiction. “Camp Redemption showcases the best of Raymond Atkins’s talents in Southern fiction: characters who move in with us, for better or worse; a plot that keeps the pages turning; and the stately, elegant prose of a born storyteller. Alternately hilarious, sad, and downright scary, this is Atkin’s best novel yet.” Melanie Sumner, The Ghost of Milagro Creek

Posted in Authors | Tagged , , , , , , , | Leave a comment